Monday, October 12, 2026

Formatting Cell🇸🇱


MS Excel Cell can hold different types of data like Numbers, Currency, Dates, etc. You can set the cell type in various ways as shown below −

  • Right Click on the cell » Format cells » Number.
  • Click on the Ribbon from the ribbon.

Set Cell Type

Various Cell Formats

Below are the various cell formats.

  • General − This is the default cell format of Cell.

  • Number − This displays cell as number with separator.

  • Currency − This displays cell as currency i.e. with currency sign.

  • Accounting − Similar to Currency, used for accounting purpose.

  • Date − Various date formats are available under this like 17-09-2013, 17th-Sep-2013, etc.

  • Time − Various Time formats are available under this, like 1.30PM, 13.30, etc.

  • Percentage − This displays cell as percentage with decimal places like 50.00%.

  • Fraction − This displays cell as fraction like 1/4, 1/2 etc.

  • Scientific − This displays cell as exponential like 5.6E+01.

  • Text − This displays cell as normal text.

  • Special − Special formats of cell like Zip code, Phone Number.

  • Custom − You can use custom format by using this.

Tuesday, October 6, 2026

Explore Window🇸🇱


The following basic window appears when you start the excel application. Let us now understand the various important parts of this window.

Explore Excel Window

File Tab

The File tab replaces the Office button from Excel 2007. You can click it to check the Backstage view, where you come when you need to open or save files, create new sheets, print a sheet, and do other file-related operations.

Quick Access Toolbar

You will find this toolbar just above the File tab and its purpose is to provide a convenient resting place for the Excel's most frequently used commands. You can customize this toolbar based on your comfort.

Ribbon

Excel Ribbon

Ribbon contains commands organized in three components −

  • Tabs − They appear across the top of the Ribbon and contain groups of related commands. Home, Insert, Page Layout are the examples of ribbon tabs.

  • Groups − They organize related commands; each group name appears below the group on the Ribbon. For example, group of commands related to fonts or group of commands related to alignment etc.

  • Commands − Commands appear within each group as mentioned above.

Title Bar

This lies in the middle and at the top of the window. Title bar shows the program and the sheet titles.

Help

The Help Icon can be used to get excel related help anytime you like. This provides nice tutorial on various subjects related to excel.

Zoom Control

Zoom control lets you zoom in for a closer look at your text. The zoom control consists of a slider that you can slide left or right to zoom in or out. The + buttons can be clicked to increase or decrease the zoom factor.

View Buttons

The group of three buttons located to the left of the Zoom control, near the bottom of the screen, lets you switch among excel's various sheet views.

  • Normal Layout view − This displays the page in normal view.

  • Page Layout view − This displays pages exactly as they will appear when printed. This gives a full screen look of the document.

  • Page Break view − This shows a preview of where pages will break when printed.

Sheet Area

The area where you enter data. The flashing vertical bar is called the insertion point and it represents the location where text will appear when you type.

Row Bar

Rows are numbered from 1 onwards and keeps on increasing as you keep entering data. Maximum limit is 1,048,576 rows.

Column Bar

Columns are numbered from A onwards and keeps on increasing as you keep entering data. After Z, it will start the series of AA, AB and so on. Maximum limit is 16,384 columns.

Status Bar

This displays the current status of the active cell in the worksheet. A cell can be in either of the fours states (a) Ready mode which indicates that the worksheet is ready to accept user inpu (b) Edit mode indicates that cell is editing mode, if it is not activated the you can activate editing mode by double-clicking on a cell (c) A cell enters into Enter mode when a user types data into a cell (d) Point mode triggers when a formula is being entered using a cell reference by mouse pointing or the arrow keys on the keyboard.

Dialog Box Launcher

This appears as a very small arrow in the lower-right corner of many groups on the Ribbon. Clicking this button opens a dialog box or task pane that provides more options about the group.

Wednesday, September 30, 2026

Introduction to Excel Starter🇸🇱



Microsoft Excel Starter 2010 is a spreadsheet program designed for everyday tasks such as setting up a budget, maintaining an address list, or keeping track of a list of to-do items. Excel Starter is part of Microsoft Office Starter 2010, and comes pre-loaded on your computer.

Excel Starter 2010 is very similar to Microsoft Excel 2010 in appearance. If you are new to the Ribbon interface or the Backstage view, Excel Starter gives you an opportunity to get accustomed to the new interface before upgrading to Excel 2010.

Excel Starter differs from the complete version of Excel in that it includes display advertising, and it does not support the advanced features of the complete version of Excel. If you find that you want more features, you can upgrade to Excel 2010 right from Excel Starter 2010. Just click Purchase on the Home tab on the ribbon.

Open Excel Starter and take a look around

Open Excel Starter with the Windows Start button.

  1. Click the Start button start button . If Excel Starter is not included among the list of programs you see, click All Programs, and then click Microsoft Office Starter.

  2. Click Microsoft Excel Starter 2010.

    The Excel Starter startup screen appears, and a blank spreadsheet is displayed. In Excel Starter, a spreadsheet is called a worksheet, and worksheets are stored in a file called a workbook. Workbooks can have one or more worksheets in them.

Excel Starter

1. Columns (labeled with letters) and rows (labeled with numbers) make up the cells of your worksheet.

2. Clicking the File tab opens the Backstage view of your workbook, where you can open and save files, get information about the current workbook, and perform other tasks that do not have to do with the content of the workbook, such as printing it or sending a copy of it in e-mail.

3. Each tab in the ribbon displays commands that are grouped by task. You'll probably spend most of your time using the Home tab, when you're entering and formatting data. Use the Insert tab to add tables, charts, pictures, or other graphics to your worksheet. Use the Page Layout tab to adjust margins and layout, especially for printing. Use the Formulas tab to make calculations on the data in your worksheet.

4. The pane along the side of the Excel Starter window includes links to Help and shortcuts to templates and clip art, to give you a head-start on creating workbooks for specific tasks, such as managing a membership list or tracking expenses. The pane also displays advertising and a link to purchase a full-feature edition of Office.

Friday, September 25, 2026

Rearrange the order of slides🇸🇱


In the pane on the left, click the thumbnail of the slide that you want to move, and then drag it to the new location.

To select multiple slides: Press and hold Ctrl, and in the pane on the left, click each slide that you want to move. Release the Ctrl key, and then drag the selected slides as a group to the new location.

Tuesday, September 22, 2026

Delete slides🇸🇱


  1. For a single slide: Right-click the slide in the thumbnail pane on the left, and select Delete Slide.

  2. For multiple slides: Press and hold Ctrl, and in the thumbnail pane on the left, select the slides. Release the Ctrl key. Then right-click the selection and choose Delete Slide.

  3. For a sequence of slides: Press and hold Shift, and in the thumbnail pane on the left, select the first and last slides in the sequence. Release the Shift key. Then right-click the selection and choose Delete Slide.

Monday, September 21, 2026

Adding text to slides🇸🇱


  1. On the Home tab, under Insert, click Text.
  2. On the pop-up menu, click Text Box.
  3. On the slide, click the location where you want to add the text box.
  4. Type or paste your text in the text box.

 

Thursday, September 10, 2026

Add new Slides🇸🇱


Adding New Slides To A PowerPoint Presentation

steps:
  1. In the slide thumbnail pane on the left, click the slide that you want your new slide to follow.

  2. On the Home tab, click New Slide.

  3. In the New Slide dialog box, select the layout that you want for your new slide. Learn more about slide layouts.

  4. Select Add Slide.

Formatting Cell🇸🇱

MS Excel Cell can hold different types of data like Numbers, Currency, Dates, etc. You can set the cell type in various ways as ...